top of page

Bria, 16, USA


My seizures began April 17th, 2012, two years ago when I was 14. I had my first seizure at school in 8th grade. I was walking in the cafeteria with my friend and started to randomly get black spots appearing in my left eye. I told her and we both just guessed it would stop. After I sat down I guess I blacked out because I couldn't remember doing anything.

My friend told me I got up and fell forward on her and then fell back landing on someone and finally hitting the ground. I can remember waking up in an EMS and hearing my twin sister and another lady's voice. I can remember waking up in a hospital and seeing my parents. When we finally got released to go we weren't home for a good 5 minutes and those black spots in my left eye came back. I had another seizure. We had to go back to the hospital and stay the night.


I went through many neurologist visits, MRI and EEG tests, but no one can see what really causes my seizures. It’s either stress, lack of sleep, dehydration, being born two months premature, or maybe being in a car accident at 7 and ending up in a coma. I was doing really good; never missing my medicine and I was finally two years seizure free. But in June 2014 I had a seizure.


No one expected another one and they said it was the worst one. Instead of black spots in my left eye, my vision went blurry. My parents said I had a seizure and I was so aggressive when I woke up, it took three people to make sure I didn't get up. My neurologist thinks I grew out of the dosages she prescribed so now I take more.


I am now doing a lot better. I am two months seizure free and I hope to finally be driving in January. I want everyone with epilepsy to remember they are not alone. I know sometimes it's scary but remember there are lots of people just like you. You aren't alone.

- November 6th, 2014


Contact info: Email: bria.whitehead@gmail.com

Featured Story
Recent Stories
Archive
Follow Us
Search By Tags
  • Twitter Basic Square

 

Let's

Talk

bottom of page