top of page

Josh, 22, USA


My story all began at age 8 in the summer of 2000. I was on vacation to the beach with family and was continuously tripping whole walking down the sidewalk. We went to the doctor and then got sent to a neurologist and the test showed I had epilepsy. After that, I would spend the next few years trying different medications and neurologists.


Finally in November of 2013 at age 21 I started seeing my fourth neurologist, who suggested I would be admitted in the Epilepsy Monitoring Unit for a week to try and give more direction on my diagnosis, and see if indeed it was epilepsy or Tourette’s syndrome. After a week in the Unit in December 2013, it was confirmed I have Phototsensitive Juvenille Myoclonic Epilepsy. After that, I have had 3 cases to date with the state in order to keep my driver's license and each time has been a struggle. As well as since December, I have been on medication that somewhat helps but side effects have caused me to lose weight and caused me to eat only about 2 meals a day max. So I still try to find meds that my body will accept and not hinder my job.


If I have learned anything from living life with epilepsy it would definitely have to be that you need something to cling to...for me I cling to God.

- February 2nd, 2015


Contact info: Twitter: @Senorjoshuacole

Featured Story
Recent Stories
Archive
Follow Us
Search By Tags
  • Twitter Basic Square

 

Let's

Talk

bottom of page