top of page

Tammy, 47, USA


My first seizure started in August 1998. I was five months pregnant at the time and I was going on a camping trip with my husband Gary and our son Evan. Our dog started to bark, and Gary looked over to notice I was having a seizure.


The doctors at the hospital did a lot of tests. They found out what caused my seizure: I had Encephalitis and they think a small case of meningitis. I did not even know I was in the hospital for two weeks. When the meds took effect, I asked what happened to me. I was told and I discovered I had lost a lot of my memory; from 5 years, if not more.


I was upset not remembering my marriage and the birth of my first son. After getting out of the hospital, I started taking Dilatin. Then I tried a lot of different medications for Epilepsy. I even had a VNS, but I had it shut off because it never did anything for me. And I also had surgery done.


I thought the hormones had something to do with my seizures. I was wrong. Then I had brain surgery done to see if the doctor could find where the seizures started from. The doctor put probes in my head, but a week later I was told that they could not find where the seizures started from. Due to getting Encephalitis and meningitis, this is what caused it. I once again started trying different seizure medications. I am now on Keppra, Lamictal, and Felbamate.


It hurts not being able to drive and work. I have two sons, a 16-year-old and a 20-year-old, and they drive. I should be the one driving. It is scary having Epilepsy, never knowing when you will have a seizure. I take what is called the RIDE program to go to places. I still find it embarrassing to take.


- July 13th, 2015

Contact info:

Email: tamra67@yahoo.com

Featured Story
Recent Stories
Archive
Follow Us
Search By Tags
  • Twitter Basic Square

 

Let's

Talk

bottom of page